PnOVA American Piano Music Series

Composers on Volume 2

Jennifer Margaret Barker's Moana was inspired by the streams, rivers, waterfalls, lakes and oceans of southeast Australia, Tasmania and New Zealand. The title means ocean, sea, large lake in Maori.

Kent Holliday's Toccata Inquieta (Sp. restless) is a toccata-like composition featuring fleeting scale and arpeggio passages, changing meters, and rapidly repeated notes. It explores a wide variety in keyboard range and attempts to demonstrate the virtuosic elements of the traditional keyboard toccata.

Mark Hagerty's two movements from Clavier (Book Two) on this concert are Capriccio, a perpetual motion study where the theme is pulled apart and put back together, and Aria, which features an elaborate melody, a response to certain philosophical keyboard movements in Bach.

Christopher Cook's Dreamscape is a prelude inspired by a quote from Hyperion, a poem by John Keats:

As when, upon a tranced summer-night,

Those green-rob'd senators of mighty woods,

Tall oaks, branch-charmed by the earnest stars,

Dream, and so dream all night without a stir

--John Keats

Byron Petty's Extractions consist of four works. Extraction no. 1 opens with an octatonic scale (alternating half and whole steps) which is developed throughout the first movement. The mood begins quietly, builds with upward motion then ends quietly – as if in the distance.

Learn More

Learn More

Learn More

Learn More

Learn More